Skip to content

I Take Birth Control Because I Like Sex.

March 6, 2012

I attended a super conservative private college where having sex could not only ostracize you socially but you could get you expelled from the school. A woman down the hall was rumored to have three genital piecing (gasp!) and men where frequently seen in her room. She was not included in hall events and eventually was kicked out of the dorms for unmentioned reasons. I was a rebel and had sex. I pushed the rules and had sex in my dorm room! I did not want to get pregnant so I sought out birth control pills. I went to the school health center and talked with a nurse about birth control. She was willing to give it to me so long as I could come up with an “appropriate” reason. Did I have a medical reason for this pill? I needed to have ovarian cysts, irregular periods, adult acne issues, anything. I could not get the pill for what it was made for- preventing pregnancy. So I lied and told them my periods were ill-regularly timed. But really, I just wanted to have sex.

I am proud of people like Sandra Fluke who so publicly stand up for women’s health issues. But it bothers me that so much time is spent convincing the public and Congress that women need birth control for medical reasons. It is as if we are ashamed that we actually want to have sex. And we want to have safe sex with limited risk for pregnancy.

Last year a movement began which sought to reclaim the word ‘slut’ and end victim blaming. The SlutWalk brought to the public’s attention the fact that women are having sex and enjoying it. Millions of women and men marched in cities across the world declaring that they enjoy sex and should not be persecuted for it.

The true message we should be taking away from Rush Limbaugh and the Republicans who support his message is that we need to clearly, loudly, and public embrace our sexualities. Yes, Rush and his cronies are fools. Yes, many women take birth control pills for reasons other than or in addition to preventing pregnancy. But that is not the issue. The overarching issue is a need for the acceptance of women’s sexualities. Women need to accept their own desires. Men need to respect that. Congress and the media need to pull their heads out of the sand and acknowledge that women are having sex. Get over it.  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    March 6, 2012 5:06 pm

    Ahhhh I went on a rant about this exact same thing today too! But you said it better. I just through around the term “total asshole” a lot. Amen!

  2. March 6, 2012 5:15 pm

    Slut shaming is alive and well in our culture, even in the ranks of left wing, “feminist” men.

    • March 6, 2012 7:05 pm

      Slut shaming is indeed alive an well. It is expressed by all sorts from the conservatives to the leftists. I have heard slut shaming from men and women.
      The focus then should be not on these hateful people but on those who are making a positive stance in regards to sexuality. If we focus on sex positivity then their negativity becomes less powerful.

Ask the Sexual Operator

